The Wide Window

download” Why  watch  reality  T.V  when  I  can  just  open  my  blinds  and  look  out  my  window  to  all  the  reality  I  can  handle?”
-Jacod Kintz
Childhood  was  spent  playing  in  open  spaces,  lush  green  meadows  and  huge  play grounds,  when  confined  indoors  by  parents  and  doors   of  the  house  were  shut  and  latched,  the  “Windows ”  acted  as  a  connection  to  the  outside  world,  as  well  as  my  teachers,  observing  the  outside  world  from  the  brim  of  my  window  taught  me  to  frame  various  views  in  my  mind  and  also  making  me  a  day-dreamer  many  times.  These  windows  so  beautifully  connected  me  to  the  exteriors  from  the  interior  of  my  house.  The  open  windows  every time made  me  feel  exhilarated ; the  soft  breeze,  the  bright  sunlight  and  cooing  of  the  cuckoo  in  the  near by  mango  trees  was   so  enchanting.
Every  house  has  some  common  features  of  having  doors  and  windows,  where  doors  gives  us  entry  in  the  house  and  exiting  the  threshold  of  the  door  makes  us  see  the  outside  world  but  once  the  door  of  the  house  is shut  it  acts  as  a  protector  acting  as  our  guard  and  if  shut  on  us  then  we  become  roofless  but  where as  my   favorite  feature  of  the  house  is  concerned  “the  windows”,  it  never  isolates  us  from  the  outside  world  even  if  the  glass panes  are  shut  or  grilled cases  are  shut  ,  we  still  can  have  the  glimpse  of  the  outside  world  from  inside  without  feeling  scared  or  lonely.
Windows  of  childhood  symbolised  emancipation  for  me  but  today  having  so  many  windows  i  feel  myself  confined  to  a  cocoon,  I  have  window  phone,  windows XP  on  my  computer,  I  follow  ‘The  White Windows’  on  my  instagram  account,  my  mobile  phone  stops  functioning  if  I  open  too  many  windows  on  it  and  so  I  have  to  shut  them ,  at  times  my  What’s  App  messages  go  to  wrong  windows ,  all  these  updated  new  windows   invented  by  the  technology  are  my  new  companions  giving  me  preview ,  knowledge  and  information  about  the  new  and  real  happenings  around  the  Universe  and  at  the  same  time  disconnecting  me  from  the  real  world,  even  from  my  own  relatives,  friends  and  neighbours.
The  windows  of  my  childhood   and  youth  played  a  significant  role  in  my  development  ,  made  especially  in  the  directions  to  witness  the  pleasant  view  which  was  soon  taken  over  by  the  chaotic  traffic jams  on  busy  roads ,  these  windows  still  continue  to  educate  me   . Observing  the  passer by  vendors,  students,  mothers,  children  lost  in  their  own  hum-drum  of  lives. These  windows  are  giving  me  the  real  outside  world  even  when  I’m  sitting  lonely.
As  a   student  I  use  to  peep  from  these  windows  to  check  whether  the  teacher  is  on  his  way  or  not  or  at  times  bunking  classes  and  escaping  from  these  windows   was  made  all  the  more  easier  and  thrilling.
Travelling  by  bus,  train  or  plane  was  never  fun  if  window  seat  was  not  available.
My  favorite  window  is  the  window  at  my  grandfather’s  ancestral  house ,  a  wide  opening  of  it  leads  us  to  the  fields  where  animals  graze  and  men  and  women  of  the  village  work  in  unison,  this  view  is  full  of  warmth  and  love. As  a  child  my grand mother  made  me  sit  on  the  window  sill  and  handing  over  a  glass  full  of  milk   to  finish,  which  I  happily  did.
From  rich  to  poor  every  one  has  windows  in  their  houses  to  see  the  outside  world  without  letting  them  know,  once  the  doors  are  open  the  privacy  is  lost  but  once  the  windows  are  open  the  fresh  light  and  air  comes  in.
I  still  sit  in  my  bedroom  sipping  my  tea  and  gazing  outside  from  my  window,  looking  at  my  kitchen garden,  the  nostalgia  still  sets  in  giving  a  strange  pull  towards  my  childhood,    opening  an  amazing  world  view  towards  the  present  and  windows  of  opportunities  towards  the  future.
At  times  of  financial  upheavals,  the  windows  give  me  a  much  needed  relief  in  the  form  of  ‘window shopping’  and  I  just  say  these  lines  by  Edith Wharton  to  my  self  : “Set  wide  the  window  .  Let  me  drink  the  day.”
I  hate  looking  through  the  tinted  glasses  of  the  windows,  because  for  me  windows  are  symbolic  with  a  clear  passage  of  air,  light,  thoughts,  like  the  open    windows  of  our  mind  and  eyes.
The  word  “eagpyrl”  meaning  the  “eye-hole”  was  replaced  by  the  word ” windows”  in  the  13th  century,  windows  acts  as  our  saviours  protects  us  from  the  blustering  winds   ,  as  a  child  playing ‘ hide  and  seek’,  hiding  behind  the  curtains  of  the  window  gave  me  a  unique  space.  Windows  like  the  doors  never  sleep  there  is  only  temporary  shut-down.
In  ”  A  Room  with  a  view”  by  Forster  the  window  created  in  front  of  a  view  is  a  glimpse  of  various  happenings.
‘ The  Open  Window”  by  Saki  is  story  revolving  around  a  big  French  window  which  becomes  a  tool   to  fool.
But  my  favorite  is  “The  Last  Leaf”  by  O’ Henry  where  a  lady  named  Johnsy  is  suffering  from  pneumonia  in  autumn  fears  death,  her  only  hope  was  the  last  leaf  on  a  vine creeper  climbing  the  brick  wall  outside  the  window,  depicting  human  beliefs,  turmoils  and  hopes.
I  have  a  deep  association  with  windows  since  my  childhood  for  all  good  reasons,    windows  are  not  for  the  proactive  people  and  so  i  love  my  real  windows  which  are  a  true  portal  from  outside  to  inside,  as  I  watch  and  observe.
Author:

learn and live :) I like to keep things simple and easy and that is what my writings reflect. A gypsy at heart my six year old keeps me leashed. I'm a blogger @mycityforkids, @womensweb,@yourstoryclub, @unboxedwriters,@polkasocial, @blogadda