Tooth Fairy

“Loosing  baby  teeth  were  a  part  and  parcel  of  one’s  life –  a  symbol  of  growing up,  and  it  is  the  tooth-fairy  that  makes  this  otherwise  dreaded  and  painful  process  an  exciting  one – something  to  look  forward  to.”
                                                                -Mansi  Maheswari.
Some  childhood  memories  are  so  deeply  embedded  in  our  minds  that  they  are  crystal  clear  and  the  mere  thought  of  them  transports  us  back  to  that  golden-period.
One  such  memory  related  to  my  childhood  is  about  the  falling  of  my  milk-teeth.  I  am  a  child  of  eighties(80’s),  when  loosing  your  milk  teeth  or  falling  of  milk tooth  was  no  great  deal,  it  was  considered  merely  to  be  a  simple  natural  occurrence,  at least  this  is  what  my  parents  thought.  All  their  concern  was  limited  to  new   permanent  teeth  were  in  symmetry  and  not  hap-hazard .  When  the  gums-grip  loosened,  the  teeth  started  moving  and  the  trouble part  began,  at  this  point  of  time  my  dad  use  to  make  a  knot  of  simple  thread,  put  it  around  my  tooth  and  then  gently  tightened  the  grip  and  with  a  slight  pull  the  tooth  came  out.  Further  I  was  made  to  hold  the  tooth  in  my  hands  and  made  to  say
” haare-haare  khabala  purana  danth  tere  and  naya  daanth  mera”( Oh!  green  grass  this  old  teeth  is  for  you  and  new  one  for  me),then    my  father  use  to  gently  press  the  old  tooth  in  between  the  green  grass.    This  simple  ritual  gave  me  immense  joy  and  happiness .  It  was  1980’s,  but  today  nursing  a  6 year  old  is  drastically  different  from  my  times  as  a  child,  as  we  have  to  act  as  per  their  instructions,  they  are  ever ready  with  answers,  solutions  and  their  never-ending  demands  and  it  a  herculean  task  to  convince  them  unlike  me  as  a  kid  ,  as  me  and  my  younger  brother  quietly  complied  to  my  father’s  orders.  Yes  times  have  changed,  some  for  better  and  some  for  worst.
Recently  when  my  six  year  daughter  lost  her  first  milk  tooth   it   was  not  as  normal  falling  of  milk  tooth   and  instead  of  putting  it  in  the  green  grass    she  insisted  on  hiding  it  under  the  pillow  so  that  a  dainty  female  attired  in  a  ballerina  type  costume  and  flying  with  her  wings  the ‘ Tooth-Fairy’comes  and  takes  it  and  in  return  leaves  a  gift  under  the  pillow  for  her.  This  was  something  new  for  me  and  when  I  consulted  other  mothers  with  kids  of  same  age  group,  I  got  to  know  that  after  the  Santa Claus  tooth  fairy  was  the  most  popular  fantasy  character  with  the  children  of  this  age  group.   I  as  a  kid  had  my  own  make-  belief  world  and  stories  when  i  lost  my  milk teeth,  so  now  how  could  I  discourage  my  daughter  from  her  tooth fairy  and  her  gift  though  I  found  it  utterly  ridiculous ,  as  losing  her  each  milk  tooth  everytime would  leave  me  much  poorer.
It  may  be  a  myth  but  children  have  their  own  make  belief  world,  every  time  complying  to  their  demands  is  not  acceptable  but  to  shatter  their  little   dream  world  is  not  justified.  May  be  this  tooth-fairy  story  is  from  the  West  but  if  without  harming  anybody  it  gave  children  happiness  and  joy  there  was  no  harm,  even  we  as  kids  enthralled ourselves  with   Nani-Dadi  ki  stories.   So  with  slight  variations  I  convinced  my  daughter  to  accept  the  gift  of  tooth-Fairy’s  choice  and  her  secret  tooth-fairy  was  me  and  i  decided  to  give  her  10  rupees  coin  along  with  banana  cake  baked  by  me  and  so  i  was  able  to  give  a  desi  touch  I  mean  Indian  touch  to  the  fantasy  of  tooth  fairy.
Tooth  Fairy  evolved  from  the  early  European  traditions  where  a  child   was  given  gift  or  money  under  the  pillow.  These  rituals  date  back  to  the  Middle-Ages,  but  in  India  the  Tooth-Fairy  is  a  fairly    modern   and  a  new concept.
But  the  concept  of  the  Tooth-Fairy  and  many  other  fantasies  like  this  has  always  helped  my  child  in  a  positive  way,  instead  of  feeling  the  pain  and  anxiety  of  losing  her  tooth,the  wait  for  the  Tooth-Fairy  has  brought  a  smile  on  her  face.  For  that  matter  when  we  grow  old  I  may  also  need  my Tooth-Far ires  for  getting  my  dentures  fixed.
Apart  from  playing    the  fantasy  world  Faries  to  our  kids  let  us  play  them  in  real  lives  too,
   we  should  like  the  umbilical  cord  blood  banking,  keep  the  milk  teeth  of  our  children  for  harvesting  stem  cells  in  the  dental  stem cell  bank  for  future  use,  that  would  we  like    tooth fairy  story  coming  to  life  literally.
images
Author:

learn and live :) I like to keep things simple and easy and that is what my writings reflect. A gypsy at heart my six year old keeps me leashed. I'm a blogger @mycityforkids, @womensweb,@yourstoryclub, @unboxedwriters,@polkasocial, @blogadda