Leaving the Nest

We  a87817661_XSll  want  to  grow  up.  We”re  desperate  to  get  there,  to  grab  all  the  opportunities  we  can…  to  live.
We’re  busy  trying  to  get  out  of  that  nest… We  don’t  think  about  the  fact  that  it’s  going  to  be  cold  out  there… really  frekin’  cold.  Because  growing  up  sometimes  means  leaving  people  behind.  And  by  the  time  we  stand  we  stand  on  our  own  two  feet…we’re  standing  there  alone.
                        Meredith Grey
                       Grey’s Anatomy- Season 7
 
 
 Well,  we  all  have  heard  and  many  times  spoken  about  the  ’empty  nest  syndrome’  at  some  or  other  point  in  our  lives,  but  as  Newton  said  “Every  action  has  equal  and  opposite  reaction,  so  does  the  ’empty  nest  syndrome’,  and  it  is  called ‘ leaving  the  nest  syndrome’.  Though  lot  many  people  would  not  agree  with  me  on  it,  as  it  was  more  feasible  in  old  times  and  now -a-days young  people  are  themselves  waiting  for  opportunities   to  move  out, to  leave  their  old  nest  and  build  a  new  one.  Every one  wants  to  be  independent    and  self-sufficient in  present  times.
 
 
But,  still  ‘leaving  the  nest  syndrome’  has  not  completely  vanished,  at least  not  for  me.
Yes  parents  with  heavy hearts  send  their  children  to  greener  pastures  in  search  of   better education  and  financial  independence.  It  is  a  tough  decision  for  them  and  so  for  the  children  as  well.
 
I  clearly  remember  the  day  my  12th  standard  board  results  were  out.  It  was  those  times  when  Internet  was  in  its  initial  stages  and  still  not  had  made  way  into  our  homes. My  parents    were  all  excited  seen  my  results,  especially  when  I  was  just  hoping  to  get  pass  marks,  I  had  distinction  in  all  three  main  subjects  and  the  happiness  of  my  parents  knew  no  boundaries.
 
Soon  after  the  results  the  real  gruelling  session  of  applying  for  various  courses  in  prestigious  colleges  of  Delhi University  began. My  dad  ran  from  one  college  to  another  filling  up  forms  along  with  me,  from  North Campus  to  South Campus,  waiting  for  the  cut-off  list,  now  the  school  life   appeared  so  much  easy  as  compared  to  running  around  various  colleges  for  the  admission,     during  school  days every thing  was  ready  on  the  platter,  parents  making  my  fee  payment  to  filling  up  forms  and  purchasing  stationary,  but  now  entering  the  college  life  meant  all  on  my  own .   
Soon  all  joys  of  passing  with  flying  colors  subsided,  preparation  for  the  college  life  began  and i  became  more  independent  now,  but  still  i  was  staying  with  my  parents,  but  moving  on  to  do  my  Masters  further  meant  moving  to  a  new  place,  leaving  my  parents  and  staying  in  a  hostel  or  with  my  relatives .  Finally  that  day  also  came,  when  for  doing  my  masters  i  had  stay  away  from  my  parents  for  the  very  first  time,  so  my  parents  decided  to  drop  me   at  my  relatives  house  but  before  leaving  me  there  all  on  my  own  they  stayed  with  me  at  our  relatives  place  to  settle  me  down,  as  it  was  the  first  time  that  their  fledgling  was  leaving  their  nest.  Bags  and  suitcases  were  packed  with  clothes,  articles  of  daily  needs  and  lots  of  do’s and  don’ts.  They  left  me  their  with  heavy  hearts  and  me  on  the  verge  of  crying,  being  comforted  by  my  relatives.   My  parents  home  soon  became  like  a  Holiday Home  for  me,  which  i  visited  during  vacations  and  festivals.  I  got  busy  preparing  for  my  competitive  exams,  making  new  friends  and  building  a  new  nesting  place.  It  was  only  initially  that  i  made  regular    phone  calls  to  my  parents , then  it  came  down  to  weekends. I  never  realized  that  in  order  to  move  ahead  in  my  life,  I  was  actually  moving  away  from  my  parents,  my  original  nest,  my  home.
 
Soon  completing  my  studies,  gave  way  to  my  job  and  then  getting  married.  I  got  busy  settling  in  my  own  life,  looking  after  my  new  family,  my  time  mostly devoted  to  my  child  and  husband.  Now  even  Summer  or  winter  vacations  lost  their  significance,  the  festivals  now  meant  more  of  preparations  rather  than  indulging  in  home  made  sweets  by  mom.  The  most  peaceful  sleep  that  i  ever  got  was  at  my  home,  which  has  now  become  just  my  parents  home  as   i  had  build  a  new  nest  for  myself,  but  still  whenever  i  go  there  i  just  sleep  for  hours  without  much  worrying  about  the  door-bell  ringing  or  whether  all  doors  are  locked  before  sleeping  in  the  night. 
 
It’s  only  within  the  walls  of  my  home  that  i  don’t  have  the  fear  of  being  judged  on  what  i  say  or  do.  My  home (parents’ home)  still  has  my  room  despite  of  the  fact  that  i  hardly  spend  even  one  month  with  them  now.    The  pink  walls  of  my   room  in  the  old  nest  reminds  me  of  my  days  as  a  teenager,  wanting  every thing  pink,  my  toys  and  dolls  are  still  intact  and  beautifully  displayed  in  the  cub board.
 
I  feel  that  somewhere  there  is   the  urge  to  make  big  in  life  or  the  desire  for  bigger  future  prospects,  buying  superficial  pleasures  and  on  the  other  hand  the  longing  to  go  back  to  my  old  nest,  where  my  parents  live  .  All  this  leaves  me  all  tired  and  exhausted,  as  if  a  tug-of-war  going  on.  I  miss  my  old  nest  ,  at  times  regret  leaving  it.
It  is  not  easy  leaving  your  nest,  at  times  i  just  want  to  relive  those  years  i  spent  away  from  my  home,  i  missed  so  many  precious  moments   and  occasions  when  my  mother  made  finger licking  delicacies  for  others  and  not  me,  as  i  was  away.
 
At  this  age  when  i  have  spent  half  my  life  away  from  home,  i  now  realize  that  it  is  now  too  late  to  go  back  home.  Now  i  can  make  temporary  visits  or  be  a  guest,  as  now  i  have  another  nest  to  built,  renovate  and  look  after.  But  i  miss  my  original  nest,  never  knew  i  would  only  return  in  bits  and  pieces,  but  it  still  gives  place  to  my  toys  and  dolls,  my  certificates  and  trophies,  which  may  not  find  place  in  my  current  home  but  they  are  beautifully  displayed  in  my  old  nest.  Even  my  report  cards  are  maintained  so  well  that  it  may  give  competition  now  to  the  report  class  of  my  daughter  studying  in  Grade-1.
 
Yes  we  all  have  to  move-on  in  life,  to  have  a  comfortable  and  easy  life,  we  have  to  make  sacrifices  and  so  does  our  parents,  well  they  sacrifice  is  even  more,  but  just  wish  that  all  us  who  have  come    to  far  off  cities  in  search  of  jobs  and  livings  have  the  chance  of  going  back  to  our  beautiful  abodes  more  often.
 
Home  is  where  our  parents  live,  this  realization  dawned  on  me  when  i  myself  became  a  parent,  and  it  is  now  i  realize  that  how  difficult   it  would  have  been  for  them  to  let  us  go  and  themselves  live  in  that  nest  all  alone,  which  they  built  collecting  each  straw  with  their  labour  and  hard-work  and  at  the  same  time  raising  and  bringing  us  up  ,  and  one  fine  day  allowed  their  own  kids  to  leave  the  nest    for  soaring  new  heights. My Parents  somewhere  have  always  known  the  fact  that  some day  their  kids  would  go  to  discover  new  avenues  and  leave  them,  and  i  as  a  kid  never  realized  that  some  day  i  would  build  my  own  nest,  leaving  them  behind.   But  my  parents  always  knew  that,
 
“There  are  two  gifts  we  should  give  our  children:  One  is  Roots,  and  the  other  is  Wings”
 
  But  for  me  home  is  still , where   my  parents  are.!!!!!!!
Author:

learn and live :) I like to keep things simple and easy and that is what my writings reflect. A gypsy at heart my six year old keeps me leashed. I'm a blogger @mycityforkids, @womensweb,@yourstoryclub, @unboxedwriters,@polkasocial, @blogadda