On the Driver’s Seat

11811474_10154065442458852_8003492586261788023_nYes,  “Necessity  is  the  mother  of  all  inventions”,this  saying  came  true  for  me  when  i  took  to  wheel  only  when  it  became  a  compulsion  for  me,  though  i  had  learnt  driving  long  time  back.
  Initially   a  bit  reluctant  to  take  new  paths  or  routes,  not  shifting  gears,  first  gear  was  my  favorite,    but  now  i  am  confident,  if  armed  with  directions  and  ground work  along  with  GPS  enabled  data  system,  well   now  the  latest  trend  is  that   the  cars  are  also  running  on  auto-gear  also,  to  make  the  task  of  the  drivers  easy.
But  people  still  look  at  lady  drivers  in  amusement  and  wonder  and  even  doubt  our  capabilities  despite  of  the  fact  that  the  lady  driver  is  more  cautious  and  vigilant  while  driving,  unlike  her  most  of  the  male  counterparts  who  indulge  in  rash  and  drunken  driving .  It  does  pinch  you  at  times  when  people  are  unable  to  accept  a  lady  as  a  driver  and   your  co-driver  being  a  male.  It  happened  to  me  few  days  back  ,  while  driving  home  with  my  father  as  my  co-driver,  my  maid  came up  to  me  and  asked  ” Madam  your  papa  does  not  know  how  to  drive,  why  are  you  always  driving  and  he sitting?!!!!”  which  left  me  and  my  daddy  dearest  frowning  and  speechless,  because  he  has  not  just  driven  light motor  vehicles  but  also  the  heavier  ones,  but  certain  mindsets  cannot  be  changed  so  why  to  argue  rather  just  prove  yourself.
Friends  at  functions  or  late  night  parties  often  out  of  curiosity  or  concern  advice  me  “that  you  should  not  drive  so  late”,  or “should  have  hired  a  cab”.  Things  become  slightly  irritating  when  they  doubt  the  driving  skills  of  ladies  to  an  extent  that  they  ask  silly  questions  such  as  ,  “how  you  negotiated  such  chaotic  traffic”  or  how  will  ladies  follow  the  directions.  How  can  driving  be  gender  specific?  Yes  one  thing  which  one  will  not  see  in  lady  drivers  is:  the  use  of  abusive  language  and  we    do  not  throw  our  weight  around  as  if  we  dominate  the  roads.
In  many  cities  still,  people  view  the  women  drivers  in  poor  light.  Seeing  a  lady  driver  still  gives  them  a  sense  of  superiority  and  as  if  they  wield  the  authority .  This  is  a  common  societal  assumption,  at least  from  my  own  experiences.
Along  with  removing  the sun  films  from  the  cars  it  is  also  important  to  remove  the  tint  with  which  society  views  the  women  drivers.
Well,  for  young  women  of  today  there  should  be  compulsory  driving  classes  along  with  self-defence  training.
Earlier  the  notion  must have  been  that  driving  is  a  forbidden  territory  for  the  women  but  in  some  places   even  today, it  still  is!!  but,  it  is  the  need  of  the  hour  to  empower  the  women  with  driving  skills  also.
Acquiring  my  learners  licence  at  18,  i  actually  got  the  chance  to  drive  when  my  father  was  posted  to  field.  The  driving  classes  were  poles  apart  from  what  actual  driving  was.  Here  there  were  no  extra  clutch  or  brakes  on  the  co-driver’s  side  and  i  was  solely  the  captain  of  my  ship.  But  it  was  not  easy  to  get  my  driving  licence  though.  The  whole  activity  of  acquiring  it  was  more  like  a  drill  and  appearing  for  my  board  exams,  there  was  sense  of  deja vu.
The  day  i  appeared  for  it,  along  with  me  my  entourage  which  included  my  parents,  cousins  and  uncles.  There  was  a  thorough  knowledge  testing  from  viva,  practicals  to  theory.   The  questions  like, how  to  change  a  flat  Tyre,  to  how  to  open  the  nuts  was’ driving  me  nuts.’  From  coolant  level  to  engine  oil  to  hazard lights  to  use  of  indicators,  i  was  bombarded  with  all  sort  of  Multiple  questions.
And  finally  after  hard  labor  i  received  my  driver’s  licence  ,  yes    which  i  could  proudly  display  and  associate  with  my  sweat  and  blood.  I  passed  with  flying  colours,  my  happiness  new  no  bounds  and  i  gave  my  thanks  giving  speech,  in  which  i  thanked  my  parents,  my  family  and  my  dog  as  well.  But  on  the  serious  note,  i  did  not  value  my  driving  as  a  teenager  but  down  the  years  i  have  realised  the  value  of  being  on  the  Drivers’  seat  and  for  this  i  give  the  credits  to  my  mother,  who  always  insisted  me  to  drive  rather    being  on  the  back  seat.  She  does  not  know  how  to  drive,  after  few  failed  attempts  she  gave  up  but  made  sure  i  learn  it.
Self-driving  has  helped  me  to  become  more  independent,  travel  safe,    blossomed  my  confidence,  navigate  traffic,  zip  through  streets.  Once  you  start  maneuvering,  shifting  gears  you  become  the  master,  as  reins  of  you  vehicle  are  in  our  own  hands.
Driving is  lot like  parenting,  where  to  learn  it  one  has  to  actually  do  it.  I  really appreciate  and  admire  the  way  women  in  Chandigarh  drive  their  two-wheelers,  it  truly  represents  our  women  empowerment  unlike  many  other  metro  cities,  where  things  will   take a  bit  longer  to  accept  the  women  as  drivers.

Only  the  sad  part  is  the  Patriarchal  set  up  associated  with  lady  drivers,  its  wrong  to  think  that  women  can’t  drive,they  do  not  have  direction  sense.  Driving  a  vehicle  is  considered  to  be  a  male  bastion  and  no  entry  sign  board  for  women  drivers  is  still  being  often  displayed  blatantly.  Why  such  tags  are  attached  to  lady  drivers?  How  many  times  have  you  seen  a  lady driver  gate  crashing,  trespassing,  with  blaring  horns  or  glaring  scorns!!  Points  to  ponder.

Author:

learn and live :) I like to keep things simple and easy and that is what my writings reflect. A gypsy at heart my six year old keeps me leashed. I'm a blogger @mycityforkids, @womensweb,@yourstoryclub, @unboxedwriters,@polkasocial, @blogadda