Baby Steps (My write-up in The Tribune , dated 19oct 2013)

210520132336 girl is Innocence playing in the mud, Beauty standing on

its head, and motherhood dragging a doll by the foot”
                                                   -Alan Beek
Every parent wants the best for his/her child. Best of

opportunities, education, career, company, friends, food and

future.

Parents even sacrifice their peace of mind, for the star of

their eyes. Every step of our child’s growth is a mystery

for us, which unfolds with time and through experience. But

sending your child, for the first day to school is the

biggest mystery and experience on this earth, which is both

bitter and sweet.

And it may have sent anxiety attack and must have given

sleepless nights to many parents; to which I am no

exception.
As my little darling turned three years old, we landed in

the country capital- Delhi, the school hunting for the

tiny-tot began, being from the army- the preference was of

course an army school, but as the accommodation was allotted

in the civil, we opted for the best school nearby and this

requirement was fulfilled by one of the most prestigious

schools of Delhi, but now the big question was, will she

get admission there or not.
But, all thanks to the point system, the distance from the

school to home played the major role in overcoming this

drill as well as hurdle and the awareness generated by

media of course played a pivotal role. Finally our little

Miss got admission in the premier institute and with that

started the real roller coaster in my mind. How would she

adjust to the new environment? How will she cope with new

challenges awaiting her? Whom would share her initial thoughts

and needs at school with? Her hesitation and my

apprehension, all these thoughts kept on flashing in my mind,

giving way to turmoil and upheaval; day in and day out,

making me restless. She was about to enter a whole new

world all together, a world away from the safe environs and

cosy comforts of the home, a world full of strangers- the

outside world, a world made of friends as well as foes, but

my love and concern should not mar her very first step to

the this new world.
Then came the Big-Day, the day when my darling daughter was

to enter a new world, but the mere thought of parting from

her, even if, it was for few hours, gave me goose-bumps,

but to my surprise when she got up in the morning that

day, she was all excited for going to her school. With

great enthusiasm she got ready, with immense pride she put

her school dress, her happiness knew no boundaries when she

saw her new school-bag, water-bottle and her lunch-box. Like

an obedient child she folded her hands to pray and seek the

blessings of our ancestral Goddess.
Finally, came the moment, when my darling was to enter her

class for the first time, but she again surprised me, she

took to her class as fish is to water and waved at me, a

gesture which meant all is well:) mamma I am a big girl

now. After waiting for three long hours my princess was out

again with us with all cheers and smiles and wanted to rush

back home, so that she could come back to school again,

the next morning.
Watching her on her first day of school left me wondering ”

Where does the time flies?’,From a newborn, to a toddler and

now as a nursery kid, all by herself in school with no

parents around. Her infancy has given way to her magical

years; which will soon turn into her discovery years, so let

her make most of it.
Though, she will always remain a little girl to me, but for

her to learn the worldly virtues and vices, I must also

learn to share her with friends, work and play.:)

Author:

learn and live :) I like to keep things simple and easy and that is what my writings reflect. A gypsy at heart my six year old keeps me leashed. I'm a blogger @mycityforkids, @womensweb,@yourstoryclub, @unboxedwriters,@polkasocial, @blogadda