My Salt-Pepper look

 I have  touched  thirties  and  with  it,  i  came  face  to  face  with  the  harsh  reality  of  life.  I  have  officially  become  a  grown-up  and   a validated  ‘middle-aged’  now.  The  lush  black  crop  of  my  head  has  now  many  alarming  grey  specks.The  crowning  glory  of  lavish  black  has  now  many  new  visitors,  who  will  soon  become  the  permanent  members,  by  overtaking  the  black.  

Yes!!  very  soon  the  black  will  give  way  to  white,  but  we  do not  call  them  so.  As  the  word  ‘white’   sounds  so  harsh  and  constantly  may  remind  us,  especially  the  ladies  and  mommies , about  getting  old  and  aged.For  white  hair , on  my  or  your  head  we  use  a  much  more  sober  or  may  call  it  more  sophisticated  term  known  as  ‘grey’  hair,  where  we  console  our selves  with  the  hope  and  possibility  of  still  having  the  black  hair.  Well  a  mix  of  ‘black’  and  ‘white’  colour  does  give  us  ‘grey’  so  term  grey  is  used  frequently.  But,  apart  from  this  there  are  several  other  ways  to  console  ourselves,  we  may  term  our  ‘greying  hair’  as  ‘salt  and  pepper’  look  or  even  as  silver  streaks.

Trust  me  i  am  still  coming  in  terms  with   my  grey  hair,  am  i  getting  old!!!!!!!Should  i  flaunt  my  salt  and  pepper  look  or  go  in   for  regular  parlour  visits  for  camouflaging.  Am  i  fighting  a  losing  battle.  Should  i  accept  my  fate  and  defeat.No  not  really!!!!  though  it  may  be  depressing  and  demoralising.  I  have  still  consoled  myself.  I  confess  that  i  have  Googled  the  Net  endless  times  for  help.  Tried  number  of  remedies,  from  Yoga  to  rubbing  of  my  finger  nails,  even  tried  home remedies,  such  as  washing  my  hair  with  herbal  products  and  even  henna-dyed  my  hair,  in  order  to  avoid  the  chemical  products,  but  all  in  vain. 

Grey  hair  could  be  attributed  to  various  reasons  such  as  stress,  pollution,  chlorinated  water,  unbalanced  diet  or  ageing,  and  especially  in  ladies  after  child-birth.But  cheer-up  ladies  there  is  no  need  to  worry  ,  as  motherhood  is  a  blessing  and  an  achievement.  So  need  not  worry.We  females  are  constantly  told  that  we  are  supposed  to  be  eternally  youthful,with  sparkling  skin  and  toned   body.  Men  with  grey  hair  may  be  attributed  with  mature  and  attractive  looks  but  ladies  are  labelled  as  old  and  unattractive.  With  first  strand  of  grey  and  crows  feet  near  our  eyes,  we  feel  that  our  stagnation  process  has  started.  We  dread  ageing ,  but  this  is  the  law  of  nature,  we  can’t  be  sweet 16  or  forever 21.  Lets  accept  ageing  gracefully,  we  are  not  mannequins  but  humans,  made  of  flesh  and  blood,  who  cry,  smile,  laugh,    and  get  laugh lines  as  well.  So  chill  and  relax,  otherwise  greying  will  increase  with  tension  and  stress.Rather  welcome  these  signs  of  ageing  with  grace,  to  age gracefully.  Yes   till  recently  i  was  worried,  but  now , I  proudly  flaunt  my  ‘Shades  of  Grey’  ,  yes  i  have  developed  a  fabulous  hair  sparkles,  my  all  natural  non-chemical  grey  highlights. 

 Yes  i  may  claim  to  have  become  wise  with  my  greys,  my  wisdom  highlights.  Going  grey  is  a  pivotal  moment  in  woman’s  life.  You  may  opt  for  dyes  or  go  natural  with  grey  shades.  Let  your  hair  follicles  breathe,  show-off  your  hair-roots.  It  is  the  God  gifted  graffiti  on  you.  So  display  it  proudly.Well,  about  my  salt  and  pepper  look,  i  give  the  credits  to  my  experience  and  hard labour.  The  sleep-deprived  nights,  the  parenting  stress  has  majorly  contributed  to  my  streaks  of  grey.And  i  am  not  complaining,  as  these  are  the  stripes  of  motherhood   given  to  me  by  my  ‘Suns’  and  ‘moons’,  yes  these  are  my  silvery  twinkling  stars,  on  my  head  of course.Let  us  take  all  this  in  a  optimistic  and  a  jovial  way.  Let  positivity  spread.Ageing  gracefully  is  all  about  maturity  and  if  it  is  complimented  and  accompanied  with  grey    hair,  then  it  becomes  more  like  ‘ an  icing  on  the  cake.

‘Having  grey  hair  is  not  a  problem  but    rather  it  is  a  ‘silver  lining  in  the  black  clouds,,  so  ladies  just  enjoy  and  make  hay  while  the  Sun  shines.

Author:

learn and live :) I like to keep things simple and easy and that is what my writings reflect. A gypsy at heart my six year old keeps me leashed. I'm a blogger @mycityforkids, @womensweb,@yourstoryclub, @unboxedwriters,@polkasocial, @blogadda